Author Topic: You don't own me.  (Read 420 times)

Offline Dale Eastman

• Owner of myself and this website
  • Administrator
  • Promiscuous Poster
  • Reputation 0
  • This space for rent
    • Synaptic Sparks
You don't own me.
« on: December 28, 2015, 01:02:56 PM »
This is a work in progress. It will be taken down. Any links to this post will eventually be dead.

I'm putting this here solely for my own purpose of access when I'm not on my home computer.

You Don't Own Me.

If you have verifiable evidence that you do own me, please contact me immediately and show me your evidence.

Since I'm fairly sure that I would know if somebody owns me, and I have no knowledge that anybody owns me, I will proceed as if nobody owns me.

I shouldn't have to point out that what is true for me is also true for you. Just as you don't own me, I don't own you. Nobody owns me and nobody owns you. The ramifications that result from this truth are just as valid for you as for me.

Since you don't own me, you can NOT give me any commands that I would be expected or required to obey. You do NOT have a higher claim on my life than I do.

If you doubt this, think of all the commands from me that you can ignore with impunity. Commands such as, for example: I decree that you not drink unpasteurized milk; I command that you not drink alcohol; I require that you eat broccoli; I order you to go rake the leaves up in my yard; I demand that you give me 11% of your earnings. I'm sure you can think of more claims on your life that are false as well as more commands that you do not have to obey.

If you could give me commands that I would be expected and required to obey, then it could be stated that you have authority over me. However, you don't own me and you do NOT have authority over me. Any child instinctively knows this if they've ever said to another child, “Who made you the boss of me?”